陳慶恩
作曲家 / 駐團藝術家2016-2018

陳慶恩現為香港大學音樂系教授,香港小交響樂團2016至2018年駐團藝術家。此前,樂團亦曾多次與他合作,在香港以至歐洲、南美、加拿大、紐約、台灣、北京及上海等地演出其委約作品。陳慶恩的創作以擅於糅合中西特色見稱,作品曾於世界各地藝術節及音樂節演出,包括愛丁堡藝術節、墨爾本藝術節、新加坡藝術節、北京第二屆中國交響樂之春、香港藝術節、台北香港週,以及阿姆斯特丹、布達佩斯及坎培拉的音樂節等。

近作計有香港小交響樂團為其2016年台灣首演委約的《月魄》和為2012年北美首演委約的《一霎好風》、於2017年坎培拉國際音樂節閉幕音樂會首演的《囍》(2014/2015年駐團藝術家麥淑賢作詞)、香港藝術節委約創作的2017年《世紀ž香港》音樂會(音樂總監及作曲)和兩套三幕室內歌劇《大同》(2015)及《蕭紅》(2013),以及於米蘭首演的《幽鳳聲如剪》(2016)等。

陳慶恩憑《蕭紅》及《一霎好風》獲香港藝術發展局頒發2013年香港藝術發展獎的「年度最佳藝術家獎(音樂)」。此外,他與香港城市當代舞蹈團的三次合作—《非常道》(2009)、《蘭陵王》(2007)及《霸王》(2005)亦備受讚譽,並憑《蘭陵王》獲2008年香港舞蹈年獎的「最佳原創音樂獎」。同年,陳慶恩獲民政事務局局長嘉許計劃頒發嘉許狀及獎章,表揚他在推動文化藝術發展的貢獻。

由香港小交響樂團委約之陳慶恩作品

1998 《月謎》為胡琴、大提琴及樂隊而作 (購買唱片)

2001 《尸媚三變》 小提琴與管弦樂隊

2005 《風留韻事》 為樂隊與兩位中國管樂獨奏者而作

2010 《鳳舞九天》 為笙及樂隊而作

2012 《一霎好風》為笙及樂隊而作

2016  《月魄》為胡琴及樂隊而作 (演出:臺北高雄香港)

2017    《十一月的流星》 為樂隊而作 (將於18.11.2017作世界首演)

所有作品由香港作曲家及作詞家協會轄下的「CASH音樂基金」贊助

本樂季其他首演作品

《幽鳳聲如剪》– 為笙與樂隊而作(2017版本)
20.5.2017 – 世界首演

Chan Hing-yan
Composer / HKS Artist Associate 2016-2018

Currently Professor of Music at The University of Hong Kong, HKS Artist Associate 2016-2018 Chan Hing-yan is no stranger to Hong Kong Sinfonietta audience as the orchestra has commissioned and performed his works at home and abroad in Europe, South America, Canada, New York, Taiwan, Beijing and Shanghai.  Lauded for their subtle incorporation of Chinese elements, his compositions have been heard around the world at festivals such as Edinburgh International Festival, Melbourne Festival, Singapore Arts Festival, the Second Spring of the Chinese Symphony in Beijing, Hong Kong Arts Festival, Hong Kong Week in Taipei and music festivals in Amsterdam, Budapest and Canberra.

Recent works include, commissioned by Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Ethereal Is the Moonfor Huqin and Orchestra (2016, for Taiwan tour) and ’Twas the Thawing Wind – for Sheng and Orchestra (2012, for North American tour); Double Happiness – A Gastronomic Suite on libretto by Mak Su-yin (HKS Artist Associate 2014/2015) premiered at the Festival Finale of the 2017 Canberra International Music Festival; commissioned by Hong Kong Arts Festival, Hong Kong Odyssey (2017, as Music Director and composer) and two three-act chamber operas Datong – the Chinese Utopia (2015) and Heart of Coral – After the Life of Xiao Hong (2013); and Hark the Phoenix Solitaire Cry – for Sheng and Orchestra (2016) premiered by Orchestra UniMi in Milan.

For Heart of Coral and ’Twas the Thawing Wind, Chan received the “Best Artist Award (Music)” at Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2013. His three collaborations with City Contemporary Dance Company – The Conqueror (2005), Warrior Lanling (2007) and Dao Extraordinaire (2009) – have won him much acclaim as well as a Hong Kong Dance Award in 2008, where he also received commendation for “Persons with Outstanding Contributions to the Development of Arts and Culture” in the Secretary for Home Affairs’ Commendation Scheme.

Chan Hing-yan’s works commissioned by Hong Kong Sinfonietta

1998  Enigmas of the Moon. for Huqin, Cello & Orchestra (BUY CD)

2001  Madame Cadavre.  for Violin & Orchestra

2005  There’s Something in the Wind….  for Orchestra & Two Chinese-wind Soloists

2010  Hark the Phoenix Soaring High.  for Sheng & Orchestra

2012  ‘Twas the Thawing Wind.  for Sheng & Orchestra

2016 Ethereal Is the Moon for Huqin & Orchestra (Performances: Taipei / Kaohsiung / Hong Kong)

2017 November Leonids – for Orchestra (world première – 18.11.2017)

All works received sponsorship from CASH Music Fund

Other première

Hark the Phoenix Solitaire Cry — for Sheng & Orchestra (2017)
World première – 20.5.2017