格德霍特
樂團首席

現任香港小交響樂團首席的格德霍特生於澳洲布里斯本,七歲開始學習音樂,12歲獲全額獎學金入讀英國曼奴軒音樂學校,並先後入讀皇家北部音樂學院及曼徹斯特大學,師隨曼奴軒學習小提琴,並隨施托克豪森及庫爾塔克學習作曲。此外,格德霍特是多個重要獎項得主,包括1996年荷蘭查爾斯.赫南國際室樂大賽首獎。

格德霍特經常以獨奏家及室樂演奏家身份在世界各地演出,曾於多個著名國際音樂節及音樂廳亮相。他曾與多個樂團合作,包括瑞士利斯室樂團、BBC蘇格蘭國家樂團、德國耶拿愛樂樂團、昆士蘭交響樂團、阿得萊德交響樂團、塔斯曼尼亞交響樂團及香港小交響樂團等,亦曾與李爾、羅森、科瓦切維奇、奧蒂斯、哥連斯、曼奴軒、朱仁拿及戴柏圖合作演奏室樂。

格德霍特是一位當代音樂的出色詮釋者,曾首演多首當代作品,包括庫爾塔克、伯特威斯爾和斯莫利的小提琴作品。他也是一位作曲家,15歲參加BBC青年作曲家大賽,成為最年輕的一位晉身決賽的參賽者,翌年獲昆士蘭愛樂樂團委約創作及首演他第一首正式的管弦作品。格德霍特的作品亦曾被澳洲弦樂四重奏、納殊樂團和澳洲新生代樂團等在歐美及亞洲等地演奏、錄音和廣播。

格德霍特於1998年加入澳洲弦樂四重奏,之後擔任葛蘭傑弦樂四重奏及悉尼獨奏家樂團的小提琴手。他曾於阿得萊德大學艾爾德音樂學院和澳洲音樂學院任教,亦於世界各地舉辦大師班,並曾為ABC Classics、Tall Poppies 和Melba灌錄唱片。

按圖下載照片

按圖下載照片

©Yvonne Chan

©Yvonne Chan

James Cuddeford
Concertmaster

Currently Concertmaster of the Hong Kong Sinfonietta, James Cuddeford has emerged as one of Australia’s leading musicians. After commencing his musical studies at age seven, Cuddeford won a full scholarship at age 12 to study at the Yehudi Menuhin School in England. He continued his studies in performance at the Royal Northern College of Music and composition at the University of Manchester. His principal teachers were Yehudi Menuhin in violin, and Karlheinz Stockhausen and György Kurtág in composition. He has won a series of important competitions including the first prize in the 1996 Charles Hennen International Competition in Holland.

Cuddeford has performed extensively throughout the world as both soloist and chamber musician. He has frequently appeared at major international festivals in many of the world’s most prestigious halls. As a chamber musician, James has collaborated with artists such as John Lill, Charles Rosen, Stephen Kovacevich, Cristina Ortiz, Michael Collins, Heinz Holliger, Yehudi Menuhin, Bruno Giuranna and Michel Dalberto. He has performed concertos with orchestras including the Camerata Lysy Switzerland, BBC Scottish National, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Jena Philharmonic Germany, Queensland, Adelaide and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras.

As a highly active and renowned interpreter of contemporary music, Cuddeford has worked with and premiered the music of many of the most important composers of our time, including violin works by Dean, Kurtág, Smalley and Birtwistle. At age 15, he was the youngest finalist in the BBC Young Composer of the Year, and the following year the Queensland Philharmonic Orchestra commissioned and premiered his first major orchestral work. His compositions have also been performed, recorded and broadcast in Europe, North America and Asia by groups such as the Nash Ensemble, Australian String Quartet, Ensemble Offspring, Psappha Ensemble, and the Sonos Chamber Orchestra of New York.

Cuddeford joined the internationally acclaimed Australian String Quartet in 1998, and was subsequently violinist with the Grainger Quartet and Sydney Soloists. Cuddeford lectured in violin at both the Elder Conservatorium and the Australian Institute of Music, and has given master classes at many major institutions around the world. He has recorded for ABC Classics, Tall Poppies and Melba Recordings.

click to download images

HIGH RESOLUTION IMAGES

©Yvonne Chan

©Yvonne Chan