麥萊
主持

麥萊是位多才多藝的音樂家,涉足的音樂領域廣泛,橫跨不同崗位;他既是音樂會主持,亦有演奏敲擊樂與玻璃琴,並擔任節目策劃和編曲。他為一家大小度身訂造的音樂教育節目廣受歡迎,題材由數學、科學、運動到魔法、神秘故事、甚至乎海盜都有包含,編制適合小型合奏組合以至整個交響樂團演出。

麥萊定期為不同英國樂團主持音樂會,如哈雷樂團、阿爾斯特交響樂團、伯明翰市交響樂團、伯恩茅斯交響樂團、利茲的北部歌劇團、德比的Viva樂團、牛津愛樂樂團及皇家利物浦愛樂樂團等。他亦與法國斯特拉斯堡愛樂樂團、摩納哥蒙地卡羅愛樂樂團、巴黎室樂團、奧維涅交響樂團和波爾多國家樂團等歐洲樂團合作無間。此外,麥萊經常與香港小交響樂團、馬來西亞愛樂樂團及新加坡交響樂團等亞洲樂團演出,他在上海的首演節目《點蟲蟲》更榮獲中國國家兒童節目銀獎。他於2010年與夏洛特交響樂團進行的美國首演亦大獲好評。

麥萊擔任BBC音樂會樂團的敲擊樂首席超過25年,期間於多個音樂會中擔任獨奏,並在自己設計的節目中融入敲擊樂元素。麥萊同時活躍於古典音樂以外的界別,參與編曲及錄音工作,並與卡克和沃克等知名歌手演出。麥萊於2012年倫敦奧運開幕禮的演出標誌着他與流行歌手奧菲德合作20年。

作為英國首屈一指的玻璃琴演奏家,麥萊曾於阿姆斯特丹皇家音樂廳、倫敦史密斯廣場、倫敦藝文中心及布里斯托爾的聖喬治音樂廳等知名場地演出,亦曾經在阿爾特堡音樂節亮相。此外,他與蘇格蘭室樂團及皇家利物浦愛樂樂團分別進行賀恩的玻璃琴作品《蒸汽》及《螢火蟲》的首演。在2014年10月,麥萊於波蘭首演著名波蘭作曲家普萊斯納為ICE克拉科夫會議中心開幕儀式所寫的作品。麥萊經常獲邀與頂尖音樂家,如冰島流行歌手Björk一同錄音,他的演奏亦在不少電影原聲配樂中出現,包括兩套《哈利波特》以及獲得英國BAFTA電影獎和奧斯卡金像獎的電影《引力邊緣》。

麥萊自1998年於BBC逍遙音樂節作獨奏首演後,已成為該音樂節的常客,並經常獲邀於英國及挪威各地音樂節中演出。

麥萊於2017年獲西蘇格蘭大學頒授榮譽博士榮銜。

按圖下載照片

按圖下載照片

Alasdair Malloy
Presenter

Alasdair Malloy is a creative musician crossing musical boundaries, working as a concert presenter, percussionist, glass harmonica player, programme deviser and arranger.  Highly acclaimed for producing unique educational and family concert programmes, Malloy has an extensive collection covering mathematics, science and sports to magic, mystery and pirates for small ensemble through to symphony orchestra.

As a concert presenter, Malloy regularly appears in the UK with the Hallé, Ulster Orchestra, City of Birmingham and Bournemouth Symphony Orchestras, the Orchestra of Opera North, Sinfonia Viva, Oxford Philharmonic and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. In Europe, Malloy has established strong relationships with orchestras such as Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo, Orchestre de Chambre de Paris, Orchestre d’Auvergne and Orchestre National de Bordeaux-Aquitaine. In Asia, Malloy appears regularly with Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Malaysian Philharmonic and Singapore Symphony Orchestra. In China, the première of his highly acclaimed programme Bugs!! won the National Silver Award for the best national performance for children. 2010 saw Malloy’s USA début with the Charlotte Symphony to great acclaim.

Principal Percussionist with the BBC Concert Orchestra for over 25 years, and a regular soloist with them, Malloy incorporates percussion-inspired features within his own programmes.  Malloy is also active as a percussionist in other genres and regularly arranges, records and performs with many celebrated artists including Jarvis Cocker and Scott Walker. His 20th year of working with Mike Oldfield culminated in his performance at the London 2012 Olympic Games opening ceremony.

As the leading British glass harmonica specialist, Malloy has performed at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Aldeburgh Festival, St John’s Smith Square, Kings Place in London and St George’s Bristol. Malloy premiered David Horne’s Vapours and Fireflies with Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic respectively. In October 2014, Malloy performed at the opening of the ICE Kraków Congress Centre in Krakow, Poland for which the noted Polish film composer Zbigniew Preisner composed a work specifically for the occasion. He is regularly invited to record with acclaimed artists such as Icelandic pop star Björk and can be heard on numerous film soundtracks; two of the Harry Potter films, and the BAFTA & Oscar-winning Hollywood blockbuster Gravity.

Having made his BBC Proms solo début in 1998, Malloy has made a number of subsequent appearances there as well as performing at other notable music festivals including Bury St Edmunds, Chester, Henley, Arundel, Lichfield and Risør in Norway.

Malloy was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University of the West of Scotland in 2017.

click to download images

HIGH RESOLUTION IMAGES