音樂總監的話

必須如此?

IMGM8535

有研究指出,現代的成年人每天要下大約35,000個決定!假如這是真的話,這個數字必定不僅包含了我們深思熟慮、仔細考量的選擇,還包括一些我們在不為意的情況下做了的決定。

1826年的秋天,貝多芬在創作他最後一首弦樂四重奏(作品135)的後期,顯然也陷入某種創作困局中。他在第四樂章開首寫下了標題「艱難的決定」,並以「必須如此?」和「必須如此!必須如此!」標示樂章中兩個主要段落(沉重的和快板)。

不論他面對的困局是甚麼,貝多芬必定在分秒間權衡了優點及缺點──因為在他提出「必須如此?」不久,即寫下充滿信心和喜樂的「必須如此!必須如此!」。

我首次碰上這首弦樂四重奏的時候,還在倫敦唸書。記得當時我嘗試找出貝多芬在苦惱甚麼,後來又如何解決困難。但日子慢慢過去,我對他的困惑並不感興趣,反而對他找到「正確答案」的強大信念和隨之而來的充沛創作力感到愈來愈好奇。

隨著年月增長,我漸漸發覺隨心而下的決定是最好的。因為,那往往會是「正確的」決定。也許這是貝多芬下決定的邏輯──當您相信「必須如此」,那決定自然會是「應當如此」。

在香港這個商業掛帥的社會,音樂家的路並不容易走。當我們面對日常所需也愈來愈難負擔的時候,只要您不計較代價,立志要走這條路,路,會漸漸變得平坦。更重要的是,因為您相信您所走的路,您會活得更開心。

希望我們這樂季的音樂會能令您想起香港小交響樂團台上台下同人的信念;他們包括樂團的樂師及行政人員、所有讓音樂會能順利進行的新知舊雨──委約作曲家、眾多香港首演作品的出版商、參與演出的獨奏家、各位指揮名家、才華綻放的新人及其獨具慧眼的經理人、各類型互動和室樂音樂會的合作夥伴,以及芭蕾、歌劇等跨界別演出的夥伴機構,當然還少不了信賴我們的支持者。

我們是否還要做這麼多?必須如此?

必須如此!必須如此!

香港小交響樂團音樂總監

2018/2019樂季節目一覽

“凡此種種,都看到樂團努力將古典音樂帶到市民的生活空間,積極地讓音樂成為市民的日常,又同時積極促進本地音樂發展”  文匯報

Message from Music Director

Muss es sein?

IMGM8535

According to recent studies, modern day adults make about 35,000 decisions a day! If this was true, this figure must include all the “decisions” that we are not aware of as well as the complicated ones which require us to analyse and delve into our knowledge base.

Beethoven was in some kind of a dilemma in the Autumn of 1826 while he was finishing his final string quartet (Op 135). He wrote the following words at the beginning of the 4th movement: “Der schwer gefasste Entschluss” (the difficult decision). He also used the words “Muss es sein?” and “Es muss sein! Es muss sein!” to signify the two sections (Grave and Allegro) in the movement.

Whatever Beethoven’s dilemma was, he seemed to have weighed out the pros and cons in about a minute, as his doubt (“Must it be?”) vanished as soon as the confident joy and clarity of the confirmation of action ensued (“It must be! It must be!”).

I first came across this string quartet as a student in London many decades ago – and I remember trying to find out what it was that bothered Beethoven – and how he resolved his problem. As the years went by, I became less and less interested in “what” he was worried about or “how” he obtained an answer – but became more intrigued by his powerful conviction of “the right answer”, and the exuberance which apparently followed.

Over the years, I learnt that it was always a good idea to listen to your heart when making a decision. And more often than not, that would turn out to be the “right answer”. Perhaps this was also Beethoven’s decision rationale – that when you believe that “it MUST be”, “it WILL be”.

The road of a musician is not an easy one, especially in a commercially-driven place like Hong Kong, where even basic living gets more and more unaffordable by the day. However, when you are convinced that this is the road you wish to take, whatever the cost, it will become easier, and most importantly, because you are doing something you believe, you will be happier on this life journey.

I hope all of our concerts this year will remind you of the convictions of the musicians and administrators of the Hong Kong Sinfonietta, on and off the stage, plus all our friends, old and new, making our concerts and projects possible: the composers we commission, the publishers behind the special Hong Kong premières, the soloists performing the old favourites and those who break new grounds, the maestros conducting the orchestra, the budding talents and their insightful managers, the presenters and curators of interactive concerts, our chamber concerts, our cross-genre adventures with fellow art groups, our ballet and opera partners and so on…

Do we have to continue to do so much? Muss es sein?

Es muss sein! Es muss sein!

 

Music Director, Hong Kong Sinfonietta

CONCERTS in 2018/2019 season 

 

“The Hong Kong Sinfonietta… emerged as an orchestra quite worthy to bear its country's flag.”  Le Devoir (Canada)